Songs for May

Once again
I trace the truth in a glass of wine
The sun casts its final rays on the building opposite of mine
Someone sits on the grass outside, she sings and plays the guitar
And it is a fantastic evening
I sit inside
out of hearing and hidden from view
but I sing louder than anyone else
I have so many songs to sing, and so many stories to tell
I wonder if the day will come when somebody hears me
I too, am someone to listen to
My wine is clear and transparent
like an early day in May
It tells no lies, only wishes
like that unrelenting evening light
that chases us into the night
that I pine for, long for when I'm abroad
that goes on for so long
so long, it seems
it seems to go on
for so long
for a life time
or more
much,
much more
I wish...
sometimes
for someone
to share my days
maybe he and I
maybe you and I
maybe we could trace the truth in a glass of wine
maybe we'd make spring immortal
this freshness of spring will never come again
only again and again and again
but we won't be here
what are our lives
but a breath in space
lets make the most of it
while we still can
come here
come to me
lets breathe together

Kommentera här: